Book Review — Soft Skills: The Software Developer’s Life Manual by John Sonmez

Michael Zhao
2 min readMar 25, 2022

--

Why Read

I am a returning reader of the book. I read the first edition of the book 3 years ago. It was a printed book. At the time, I was experiencing some confusion of my career development. The book was quite inspiring, especially the content about marketing yourself, building your brand (and blogs) and considering of being a freelancer. Now I am in another bottleneck, it’s time to re-visit book.

What Obtained

The most important things the author was going to telling me:

Market yourself

  • “The biggest mistake that you can make is to believe that you are working for somebody else.”
  • Be a business man, sell the services you provide.
  • Add value to others.
  • Write blogs.
  • Create you own Youtube channel.

Climbing Career Ladder

  • Your aren’t a professional resume writer. Hire a resume writer.
  • Manage to let the interviewer know you and like you before you go to the interview.
  • Take more responsibility.
  • Be visible.

Make Money

  • The power of passive income

Teach Yourself

  • The best way to learn something is to jump right in and start doing, before you even know what you’re doing.
  • Play is a powerful mechanism for learning.
  • Your gaps come from:
    Where you’re spending the most amount of time
    Repetitive tasks that could be improved
    Things that you don’t fully understand
    Job interview questions you can’t answer

Productivity

  • Practice Pomodoro.
  • Deal with interruptions.
  • Multitasking is bad.
  • Break big things down (programmers know it).

Mindset

  • Pick a single bad habit that you’ve been able to identify and don’t try to change it right away.
  • Be positive. Every situation that you encounter in life is open to your own interpretations. Situations don’t present themselves as “good” or “bad.”
  • Stoic.

After reading the 1st edition of the book, I changed my mindset on marketing myself.

The 2nd edition sowed a seed of Stoic in my heart.

I like using mind-map to record content. This is the one I created for this book.

--

--